Free

Throughout most of my life I have felt like I’ve had to start over. I have felt like I kept getting stuck at the beginning. I was always paying my dues and it felt like they never amounted to anything. I would give my job my all with the hope that I would be recognized and rewarded by moving up. There were some financial rewards but I was always stuck at entry level. I wondered if people would ever stop taking me for granted and taking advantage of my hard work. Once I realized that was not going to change in the career I was in I changed. I decided that if I was going to do something and be stuck, I might as well enjoy what I was doing. I thought about how to make my life work for me and I designed a life that did exactly that. Getting to that point has taken a lot of time, planning and work. I realized the other day that I am finally living that life I dreamed of plus some.

I still have some room to grow and progress to make but I no longer feel like I’m stuck at the beginning. I am not stuck at all. I feel free to be my best self. I am free to do the things I have always wanted to do but had neither the time nor the energy to do them. Sure my life is always busy, but it is so much better than being sad and stuck.

If there is something you have always wanted to do, I encourage you to explore it. I have a friend that says, “A job is not a tattoo. If you don’t like it, you don’t have to stick with it.” There is certainly fear in taking the risk of completely changing your life but there is also the possibility that things just might work out the way you want them to.

Upside Down Splits on the Cadillac

Posted on May 14, 2015, in passion, past, path, perspective, philosophy, plans, present, prose and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment